ILLINOIS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY
Office of the President

June 21, 1983

Mr. Grote Reber
General Delivery
Bothwell
Tasmania, Australia 7411

Dear Mr. Reber:

It gives me great pleasure to advise you that you have been elected to the IIT Hall of Fame. This recognition is reserved for a select group of extraordinary individuals who have been associated with IIT or one of its predecessor institutions and who, through their careers, bring distinction to the university.

I have enclosed for your reference the statement of criteria by which nominees to the Hall of Fame are judged, the list of individuals elected this year, and a listing of all of the current members of the Hall of Fame. I trust that you will share with us a sense of honor to find that your name will be listed among these distinguished awardees.

The induction of new members into the Hall of Fame will occur on September 23, 1983, at a university luncheon on campus. From the many notable people considered this year by the awards committee, four have been elected to join the twenty-five present members. III looks forward to recognizing your life achievements by installation of a permanent display in your name on campus.

Along with our congratulations, please accept this invitation to attend the luncheon on Friday, September 23, 1983, for the formal induction program. You need not prepare any formal statement, although we do hope that you might say a few words during the ceremony. Those attending the luncheon will be Trustees, faculty members, active alumni leaders and other specially invited guests. It is of great importance to IIT that you attend this dedicatory celebration. In order to make appropriate preparations for your attendance on September 23, the alumni office will contact you to discuss your plans.

I do hope you will join us to celebrate the Hall of Fame, and, once again, let me extend to you my personal congratulations.

Sincerely yours,

Thomas L. Martin, Jr. A.
President

TLM: 1; Enclosure

IIT Center

Chicago, Illinois 60616

(312) 567-3001

IIT HALL OF FAME

Criteria for Selection

To IIT alumni, faculty, or staff members

- ...whose works serve as an inspiration to alumni, students, faculty, and staff, encompassing the full breath of the fields of education, research, professions, administration, business, culture, and public service.
- ...whose example serves to enhance the national and international reputation of the university.
- ...whose commitment of ability and leadership has provided outstanding contributions to their professional fields and preeminent service to the advancement of mankind.

Founding members
1980

Fanny Butcher
Lee Deforest
Lloyd H. Donnell
Benny Goodman
Samuel I. Hayakawa
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
Laszlo Moholy-Nagy
Richard B. Ogilvie

Harold Leonard Stuart

Herbert A Simon

Lowell Thomas

1981
Marvin Camras
William F. Finkl
Ludwig Carl Hilberseimer
Weymouth Kirkland
Thomas J. Moran
Donald F. Othmer
Harris Perlstein
Dorothy Thompson

1982

Florence Knoll Bassett Martin Kilpatrick Henry R. Linden Karl Menger William Simon Abe M. Zarem

1983 Beatrice Pearson DeLany Grote Reber Robert Lee Roderick John Ingle Yellott